Published on Oct 27, 2021
What Does Pending Mean on Snapchat? Reasons For Showing Pending
Snapchat is a popular messaging app among teens and young adults. Half of the Snapchat population is between the ages of 15-25 years old. The popularity of Snapchat has skyrocketed in a short period and has been able to gain lots of users.
Snapchat provides a fun lens, allows users to add private stories, view others’ stories, create Snapchat streaks, subscribe to channels on Snapchat, audio or video calls on Snapchat.
People use Snapchat to share whatever they are doing at the moment, and this social media platform has been the best way to update one another about what’s happening in their life.
Snapchat is pretty easy to use; all you need to do is take a snap or a video, write something over the snap, and send it to people you like. However, sometimes new users can get confused regarding the slang, signs, and terms they receive on Snapchat.
One common confusion that most new users on Snapchat have is about the pending that they see when messaging someone. Many users get confused when they see something pending on Snapchat.
If you are new to Snapchat and have seen pending messages, read this article until the end and know what pending means on Snapchat.
What Does Pending Mean on Snapchat?
Usually, when you send text, snap, or video to someone on Snapchat, you will receive a blue, red, or purple arrow that writes delivered or sent on Snapchat.
But sometimes, you might receive pending messages on Snapchat while sending a text or snap. So, what does pending mean on Snapchat?
The pending message on Snapchat means either the user hasn’t added you back or the user has blocked you on Snapchat.
If your Snapchat friends have unfriended you from their friend list, you can also get a pending signal. When your message gets stuck instead of getting delivered, then we can say it’s pending.
Reasons For Showing Pending on Snapchat
On Snapchat, the pending message is shown due to many reasons like:
1. You Are Not Friend with the Person on Snapchat
If you send a message to someone with whom you are not friends on Snapchat. Or, if the person has not accepted your friend request, then your message is shown as pending.
Even if you have added the person on Snapchat and sent them a message, they will not receive it until they add you back on their Snapchat.
The pending signal on Snapchat is available for 30 days. So if the person accepts your Snapchat friend request within 30 days, they will be able to view your message. But you need to keep in mind that after 30 days, the message disappears from Snapchat.
2. The Person Has Blocked You
If the user has blocked you, then also you will receive the pending message. Even when your friend unfriends you from Snapchat, you will see pending messages on the message you have sent.
If you feel like someone has blocked you, you can verify it by using methods like checking the person by searching their username on your friend’s list on Snapchat. If you cannot find the person on your Snapchat friends list, it means the person has blocked you.
If the person has unfriended you from their Snapchat, then you will receive the pending message. However, if your friend has unfriended you, you can search for them and add them back.
3. The Network Is Slow
Sometimes even when your network is slow, your message will not be delivered, and your messages get pending.
Also, if you send large files in-network with heavy traffic, the message will not get delivered on time, and you will see the pending tag. You may have seen pending messages for a while when sending many files at once.
However, the pending issue is not permanent, as your message will get delivered once your network gets restored. All the pending tags will turn into delivered when the network starts to work again.
4. The Snapchat Account Has Been Deleted
Even when you send a message to any deleted account, you will receive a pending sign. If you delete or remove your Snapchat account, then anyone who tries to message you on the account will receive a pending signal.
Even when Snapchat removes some users' profiles, any snaps they send will be shown as pending.
How To Check if the Message is Pending or Delivered?
For a new person, signs of messages delivered and sent can be confusing. When you send messages, you will receive different signs based on the message sent status on Snapchat. Here are the different signs that you will receive:
If your message is delivered, you will see an arrow icon that shows your message has been delivered. Based on the type of message, you will receive different colored arrow signs.
If you have sent a text message, you will receive a blue arrow; for the snap, you will receive a red arrow, and if you have sent a video, you will receive a purple arrow.
Sometimes you might even receive a grey arrow, and it’s because of privacy reasons or if the person has not accepted your friend request.
Hollow Arrow Icon
The next sign that you can see is the hollow icon. If the receiver has opened your message, you will see the hollow icon next to the message. If the receiver has opened your text message, you will see a hollow blue arrow similar to the sent message sign.
You will receive red and purple hollow arrows for audio and video messages. You will also receive a hollow green arrow which indicates your gift was opened.
Circle With Arrow
On Snapchat, you will receive a circle with a counter-clockwise arrow if someone has replayed your photo or video. The red circle with an arrow shows your snap was replayed, while the purple circle with a counter-clockwise arrow indicates your video was replayed.
Does My Snap or Message Expire?
Yes, snap or message will expire after a certain time. If you have unread snaps, they will disappear after a certain time. The reason behind the snaps expiring is due to Snapchat's anonymity culture.
Snaps also expire based on time frames. If you are sending a snap in a group chat, the snap will disappear within 24 hours. But if you are sending a snap to one user at a time, then the message will disappear after a month.
Even though the Snapchat signs can be confusing at first, it is easy to use. Many people get confused with the pending message, but the app will be easy to use once you get used to the signs.